There are 54 Town Mutual Insurance Companies operating in limited areas throughout Wisconsin and 10 statewide domestic members of WAMIC. They are providing insurance protection to Wisconsin property owners to protect them from financial ruin in the event of catastrophe and to do so at a fair cost. These are community based insurance companies which are owned by their policyholders. There are no stockholders and any surplus either remains in the company’s surplus account or may be refunded to the policyholders – at the discretion of the policyholder directors.